The Home Reference Book

Do any of you give a copy of Carson Dunlop’s (megabinder!) The Home Reference Book with your inspections?
Thanks!

Yes and Most inspectors in my area use this Book .
I have been using it for 7 years and do not think I will change .
I find my clients are happy with the book and the instant report .
Send Me email and I will try and help you .
Roy Cooke …Royshomeinspection.com

I find that it is full of lots of good info. The problem is by merging the report with basic information it makes it overwhelming to many people.

I think it is unrealistic to expect someone to read…sorry, cipher through the binder in the limited few days they are trying to arrange financing, selling their house, possibly relocating their employment, making moving arrangements, etc.

Those that use the Home Reference argue that the section titled “The Bottom Line” which is basically the summary is there for a quick review of the client. While I agree a summary of some sort is important and I provide one in my reports (average 35-45 pages) personally I think it should complement the rest of the report and not compensate for it.

While it is true many people do not read the reports regardless of length or complexity. I prefer not add to the confusion.

Here is an exercise, the next time you do an inspection used the Home Reference book. Then remove or black out all the information that does not pertain directly to that house. I think you’ll be amazed at how much information is removed.

I use CD reports only, compiled in a three ring one inch binder of 143 pages.

As Paul has alluded to the feedback from my clients was that the full CD report binder was to volumous. Most clients comments were related to size and the fact the info was too much. In other words keep is simple, and that is exactly what I did. Subsequently I have rec’d great feedback from clients as to the layout of my report and ease of understanding. Never any negative comments.