Thermo Imaging that hooks to phone

This is my first time of writing. The question I have is I am getting involved with thermo imaging. What is the best camera for this starting out? And has anyone used the device that hooks up to a phone? Is it a reliable source to use.

Welcome to the message board, George. Even if you do not post, visit and learn.

Hard question to answer. Good resolution. Affordability.
Never use mobile phone usb camera.

Thank you for your reply hopefully we will get an answer. Do you thermo imaging and what kind of camera do you use.

Flir E4 or the E8. I have the E8.

1 Like

Fluke Ti300 60 hz.
320 x 240 Sensor.
50Mk.

1 Like

There is a reason it only cost a couple of hundred bucks.
DO NOT make decisions on professional tools with your wallet. You will always make the wrong decision!

2 Likes

I have a tiny little Seek brand USB type C camera. It’s handy to carry, handy to have, but lacking a black and white camera, produces images best used live, and not very good for reports or presentations. Search the archives here for a review.

I had one from Flir. It was ok at first. Then less than 2 months into use it started losing charge very fast. You could charge it up the night before and it would be dead at the inspection in the morning. Finally it quit charging altogether and was dead in the water. I sent it back to Flir and got a free replacement unit which I sold on eBay and bought an upgraded (hacked) E4.

So my experience was not positive except that Flir was good about the warranty coverage.

2 Likes

Thank you for your input, I didn’t want to pay out a lot of money for something that did not work.

George Wilson

478-832-2230 Cell
478-333-0001 Office

http://www.homeinspectionsa-z.com

Thank you

George Wilson

478-832-2230 Cell
478-333-0001 Office

http://www.homeinspectionsa-z.com

Welcome George.

If you are serious, about Thermal Imaging or will get more serious, get at least a 320 x 240 pixel imager.