To join a company or create your own?

Hello everyone I am new to the home inspection business. I was asked to join a home inspector company with another guy. I was thinking of creating my own business. I have a good amount of contacts in real estate already. Is there any other benefits of working for a company other than referrals?
Thanks

What’s your business experience?

Lower risk and fewer decisions to make, but that comes with lower reward and less autonomy.

Minimal. I want to start my own since right now this will be my side job. So, I have time to be things going.

Have you ever owned/operated a business before?

I’m in the same boat. I wanted to work with another company to learn the ropes and then cut out on my own. I’ve been fortunate that they have worked with me regarding the non compete clause and things couldn’t be better.

I say, if you want to build your own brand, start your own company.

If you want the safety net, join one BUT pay careful attention to the non compete. Dont start your business by going back on your word (ie the non compete).

That’s just my opinion. Good luck either way!

1 Like

I started out many moons ago working with a major franchise in my area. It worked out very well for both the franchise owner and I. Things changed and I went out on my own with a great list of clients and agents. The arrangement worked well for both of us.
Hope this helps
Cheers

No. I really want to start my own. I know risks involved. I know it’s hard. I do have people around me who have business experience to help get me started.

Thank you I appreciate the advice

Just so you know, the “inspecting” part is only about 25% of the job, so if that is your primary draw to it, be prepared for major disappointment! This is prolly the one significant reason why many prefer to work for other inspection companies… so they don’t have to deal with all the non-inspecting responsibilities.

What Jonas said.