To probe or not to probe wood

I am a home inspector in California and have been told by my attorney that in California it is not legal for home inspectors to probe wood for dry rot etc. and the InterNACHI sop’s state the inspection is a “non-invasive visual inspection”.
Yet in a number of the training lessons, log cabin inspections as an example, it discusses probing wood for damage.
Can anyone tell me in California is it legal for me to probe wood or not?
Thank you

Seems to me you already have your answer!!

Who is going to represent you in court… your attorney or Inspector Joe Somebody from Sheboygan??

2 Likes

California has no inspection codes so how is that possible. Lots of bad lawyers like everything else.

1 Like

It’s California! They don’t need no stinkin’ codes to sue your ass!
Cause damage to a private homeowners property that you do not own, you-will-pay!!

1 Like

That’s true! Laws don’t matter if you make them up as you go along.

“So, what are you in for?”

“Ten years for stickin’ wood with an ice pick”

1 Like

There are laws that cover this scenario. See my post above.

So your a lawyer now! Hard to damage rotted wood with an ice pick.

The criminals in California are all in govt.

I bet you if you stick a person you’ll be out in 24 hrs.

Mirror Man 1

I just knock on it with my knuckle a couple times. you can usually hear the rot.

3 Likes

The mirror doesn’t flatter you at all!

Be smart and be inconspicuous and it will never be a problem. It is called a “pick-test” and it is a handy method to confirm moisture damage. It is a silly law if it exists, but if you go poking holes and jabbing into finished surfaces, you get what you deserve.

2 Likes

I guess I didn’t phrase the question correctly. Thank you anyway.

Tony

I thought the question was fine. But I doubt there will be a specific statute that says “home inspector shall not probe wood”

However, there probably are laws about damaging peoples property.

1 Like