Truss connection in North Carolina

I’m a Florida inspector that just looked at a house in North Carolina.
The house was built in 2008 and the trusses are toe-nailed to the top plate and no straps.

This would not fly in Florida. Is it acceptable in North Carolina?

Looks like Raised or Standing engineered heal truss.
z5.JPG

z5.JPG

Built in 2008 means the permit could have been pulled in 2007…what county are we talking about.

Jeff

It’s in Mebane. I think it’s Alamance county

Just found out it’s in Orange county

I don’t know about NC, but here in Maine we use these;
http://www.dhcsupplies.com/store/i/is.aspx?path=/images/simpson/simpson_h1.jpg

And we also use ceiling insulation with an R-factor of at least 38. :):wink:

2009 IRC R802.10.5 Truss to wall connection. Trusses shall be connected
to wall plates by the use of approved connectors having a resistance
to uplift of not less than 175 pounds (779 N) and shall be
installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications.
For roof assemblies subject to wind uplift pressures of 20 pounds
per square foot (960 Pa) or greater, as established in Table
R301.2(2), adjusted for height and exposure per TableR301.2(3),
see section R802.11.

[That code is unchanged from the 2003 IRC and perhaps back further.]

Commentary: In conventional rafter-ceiling joist construction, the
ceiling joist is toenailed to the top plate, and the rafter
is toenailed to the top plate with the ceiling joist face
nailed to the rafter. Toenailing of trusses to the top
plate does not provide an equivalent connection.
Toenailing may splinter the truss chord and compromise
truss stability. This section requires that the
proper framing anchor be used for the truss-to-wall
connection
to maintain the same structural integrity as
expected in a conventionally framed roof.