VA inspections

Has anyone done any inspections for the VA? I have had realtors ask if I was VA certified? I have done plenty of inspections for active duty veterans and none of them have ever been kicked back? How do you get on the list, or is there such a thing ? or is it even necessary?
Thanks

In WA, I don’t know anything about a “list”. I’ve done multiple inspections for clients with VA loans. The only difference I run into is that they always want the NPMA-33 for WDOs. However, we’re required to be licensed for WDOs up here, not sure about FL requirements.

I have been a VA inspector for many years.

Contact your local VA[FONT=Arial] administration and tell them that you want to conduct inspections for their office. [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial]There are many forms to fill out, criminal background checks, Certifications & Criteria to be met and an extensive written test. [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial]Good luck! :p[/FONT]

Frank,
In your opinion is it worth the time & effort?

I have been doing them for years, and have never had a problem, Based on where I’m at they to require the NPMA 33, I looked into going through the process but the time and effort was to great with little return. The buyers go through their local mortgage companies, so I just didn’t think it was worth my time.
Frank have you found it to be a financial success?

Kevin and Troy,
In all the years that I have been a “Code Compliance V. A. Inspector” I have never had a problem getting paid and or getting paid on time.
[FONT=Arial]Up here we get paid $150 per inspection to include each phase of any “draw inspection”. Some new homes can have as many as eight inspections before completion. {NOTE: Banks pay up to $250.00} [/FONT]

Some banks pay as much as $150 to $250 per draw inspection so yes I believe it is a “financial success”.

• Some of you receive phone calls from “middle eastern speaking people” requesting you to conduct $20-$30 “draw inspections”. :roll: