What is the issue on this report?

I had an agent call and ask me for my input on this comment and how to fix the issue. I think I finally pieced together the issue that there’s two bath fans to the same vent but I thought this was just the weirdest comment. What are your thoughts?

“This is of course speculation as I am not an expert”. This should never be in a home inspection report. Maybe they need to higher an expert home inspector. Another damn check box home inspector. The agent should contact the inspector for any clarification.

8 Likes

WHAT?

“In my opinion this condition could likely be lived with proper foresight”

I’m with Martin tell the agent to call the inspector that wrote the report, not you.

4 Likes

Yeah, that’s a crap narrative, but I’m sure of what he/she is saying.
Post a pic of the roof / vent from the exterior to confirm.

2021-08-06_162800

4 Likes

The inspector went around the world and back to say he did not know what the f** he was looking at or who could solve the problem.

The is a classic case for “report what you see”

6 Likes

Or if it was a problem, or if it could be lived with, or for how long it could be lived with.

4 Likes

1: The 2 bathroom ducts in a roof vent!!!
2: The bathroom ductwork do not protruded the roof, or wall assembly, and have independent exhaust vent caps.
3: warm damp bathroom duct exhaust returns into an exhaust duct not in operation and into the roof assembly.

The reason for pans in the roof vault, to collect condensate.

The inspector gave an opinion. Like that he/she protects their liability. ‘a view or judgment formed about something, not necessarily based on fact or direct knowledge.’

Come on guys.

1 Like

That configuration is allowed by all our AHJs…sigh…
His commentary is a waste of a lot of perfectly good words.

2 Likes