Why cast iron in a new home?

What would be the reason for this? New home. 99% of the waste pipes were PVC.

Only reason I can think of is it is less susceptible to damage.

I’ve heard of it being used for noise reduction in large vertical drops…

Plumber ran out of pvc, and happened to have the cast iron on his truck that fit?

I wonder why they did not put a clean out up at the top near the transition. Looking at the system again as a whole it looks like it could be very susceptible to some clogging w/o a method to clean it out.

I agree. It is much quieter.

That is exactly the purpose…we been using them in all of our homes since 1992.

The problem you have to be aware of is to make sure the bottom is supported due to its weight.

Always learning something new. One of the coolest things about this job, and this message board as well.:smiley:

When I was a carpenter in Chicago I asked the same question and was told it was due to the fact that PVC released toxic gas in a fire.

I agree with Jim. We do it all the time on Commercial Jobs for vertical drops to reduce noise.
This looks like it was planned for possible future of finishing the basement. :slight_smile:

Cleanout is at required location. The upper pipes can be snaked from above easily.

Since it is only mechanically attached to the abs/pvc, the cast is able to be removed to install a cold water preheat/heat recovery device.

Brian, what is a cold water preheat/heat recovery device that would be hooked up to a waste line?:slight_smile:

Here you go Marcel

Drain-Water Heat Recovery

http://www.energysavers.gov/images/drainwater_heat_recover.gif

Thanks Mike, and I have never seen nor come across anything like it.

Seems like something that would be used on commercial or industrial buildings.
House hold with two to four people dosen’t seem like a very equitable savings. :slight_smile:

I agree with you Marcel but people get talked into buying the craziest things sometimes. :shock: