You don’t always get what you pay for…

All too often I’ve heard the phrase “you get what you pay for”. But it works both ways.

This inspection was performed by our local high price multi inspection firm. The first two photos are from the original report, the last was my photo. The client complained of outlets and lights not working. We found multiple grounded conductors on a single lug on the neural bar and the burnt wires. No mention of the burnt conductors or multiple conductors on lugs in the report.

5 Likes

Probably improper MWBC or undersized wire.

So that defect was visible in the photo included in the original report?

First two photos are original from report (my mark-up).

1 Like

Interesting, why did the 1st inspector bother to take the cover off if not to inspect? I am not an electrician, therefore I specifically look for issues such as this. It is a good thing you were called in.

1 Like

They remove the cover to snap a quick pic. Pics are important, you need to take like 300 of them! Then you will appear professional, yeap!

Have you not seen inspectors boast how they send out the report at the end of 1-hour inspection? Well… they only look at the panel for 30 seconds and close it. Then they don’t review any photos. End product posted by OP.

3 Likes

RB, you implying your a cheap inspector? by calling the others “high price”

could you walk into a court of law and truthfully testify all you found was present the day the other inspection was performed?

ftr…not fully redacting report info could get you in a world of hurt

Aardvark 3205 Oak Glen Trail Fort Wayne, IN

karma’s a bitch
best to mind mama
“if ya can’t say something good best not say anything at all”

I cannot speak for other inspectors, some may be more talented than me. But, I personally need the office time to review photos and write in order to do my job. I have accepted this fate and I encourage others to do the same. But, it is apparent my style is falling to the wayside.