Anyone Do Phase Inspections?

I’ve heard of these and generally know what they entail but am just curious if anyone does them? They sure don’t seem to pay much… LOL. $50 is what I got for my last one (see below). I talked to a guy today and in the blink of an eye got him from $60 to $100.

My situation is I’m a 20+ year inspector but have moved to a new location and am starting a new company. The problem is I’m traveling a lot back and forth as I still own my company (multi-inspector) in the last location. I’m hesitant to really start advertising new company until I’m going to be in new company’s location for a while (which will be happening at the start of October). So, I’m spending a lot of time sitting around waiting. So… first phase inspection company called and I didn’t even bother to ask the price. After doing the job I literally laughed out loud when I found out how much it paid - $50. So, guy calls today and agrees to $100. Honestly, the money really doesn’t matter to me. There’s food in the fridge and the bills are paid. I just like the idea of having somewhere to go. It’s also fun to learn my way around the new area and have someone at least cover the gas. And it’s Maui so there’s really not a bad part of town :slight_smile: Or, at least not one without a really nice view.

I’m just wondering if any of you have done much of this phase inspection game. It seems that to make any real money you’d have to do a sub-division and knock out 10+ at a time. Do these companies just troll to the bottom for the cheapest guy? Fwiw, both companies have found me on the InterNACHI website which it’s nice to know I’m out there.

1 Like

Question: Are you actually doing Phase inspections, or Draw inspections. NOT the same thing. Phase typically pays $150+ (depending), and Draw typically starts at $40+ (depending). A lot of variables that affect those rates. Curious what companies you are being contacted by. I have dealt with many, and have FIRED most of them!!

2 Likes