Being undercut by $100’s!

Hey everyone,
I’m a new inspector in Southern California and proud new interNACHI certified professional inspector.
I’ve been getting under cut by 1-200$! Is anyone else having this issue!! My base is $375 and I go up from there. I had a potential client tell me today that she was quoted $250 for a 2 story 3,454 home!!! How the heck can anyone do a quality inspection or make any money on that!!
I don’t know what to do!? I’d loose money if I matched that fee. Any advise would be appreciated.! Thank you.

Low overhead? Nothing but time on their hands?

I guess… but with the cost of file in California and the time spent at the inspection and the time spent writing the inspection. There’s no way the client is getting a quality inspection.

1 Like

In my opinion, this issue will likely always exist. There are many home inspectors who are retired from another profession and likely collecting a pension or drawing from retirement savings. These inspectors are just looking to subsidize their retirement income and keep themselves active. There are others that do very fast inspections and get through 3 or even 4 per day. These inspectors give a cut-rate inspection at a cut-rate price. There are other inspectors who are trying to get established and will lower their price to get more business, and therefore, hopefully more future referrals where they can gradually raise their prices. You have to have a nice “war chest” for this approach but it can be effective for sure.

1 Like

Thanks ruecker.
I just figured that I should hold steady at my fee because of the time I spend. But maybe you’re right… maybe I should start undercutting the undercurrents to get established.

Dan don’t do that. If you do it’s a business practice that will close your doors.

13 Likes

Thanks Martin!
I really don’t want to, ive just been getting so frustrated with these people charging next to nothing for an inspection!