Certified Master Inspector

I am approaching my 1000 inspection. As of today I have 975.

I wanted to ask other inspectors on there opinion of the CMI designation.

In no way do I feel I am a master inspector. I am a very good inspector but to me a master would be someone who has the master knowledge of all components of a home inspection.

In the application I dont believe that having vehicle logos and CEU credits should apply. I actually think 2500 or 5000 inspection should be the bar for a master inspector. I also believe there should be an exam for the CMI with a 90% passing grade.

I do like the fact that I can utilize the CMI logo as there are not many with this designation in my area.

Any thoughts on the CMI is appreciated. Is it worth the $375?

There are no vehicle logos required?
That is not on the application.

Below are the stated requirements, no more, no less:

1. [FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Verdana, Sans Serif]Completing 1,000 fee-paid inspections or hours of inspection-related continuing education (combined) in their lifetime.[/FONT]
  2. Abiding by the industry’s toughest Code of Ethics.
  3. Substantially following a Board approved Standards of Practice.
  4. Submitting to a criminal background check.
  5. Applying for Board certification by signing the affidavit in front of a Notary.
    It works for me. Some like it, some want it changed.
    This has been debated for mucho long time on this forum.

It is a designation based on education and experience.

It is on the CMI worksheet. It is #14. I see where the worksheet is for fun!
I misunderstood the worksheet as I thought the sheet was part of the application.

http://certifiedhomeinspections.info/

Perhaps this is the beauty of this particular designation, sir.