Condensate drain, water heater pan drain and water conditioner drain

Hi, I’m a new home inspector and I had a question for you experts out there. I found this in a water heater closet. It’s a drain pipe that has the condensate line in it, the overflow from the water heater pan and the discharge line from a water conditioner. I live in Texas and want to say that one of my instructors said this is a deficiency. Thoughts?

What do you think might be improper about it? Are any of the drains you mentioned not allowed to be terminated in this manner? Do any of them require an air gap? If the drain is connected to the sewer, is it trapped? Is the trap at risk of losing its seal with what’s there? Where does the wh t&p discharge terminate?

These are my thoughts. I wouldn’t give any thought to what your instructor might say unless they can substantiate their opinion with specifics.

If the potable water supply can’t be contaminated then no ‘air gap’ is necessary. Looks good to me. :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

Discharge from a water softener into a waste receptor with no air gap constitutes a potential cross connect.

I believe each jurisdiction has their own code on that.

Based on the photo provided I can not see any definitive defect that a ‘generalist’ home inspector would have knowledge of. I do not provide code inspections nor do I comment on water softeners which are excluded both in the sop and my contract. Furthermore I do not pepper my reports with hypothetical speculative comments to feed my ego.

A potential cross connect of the potable water supply is a reportable condition, whether you inspect the water treatment system itself or not.

BTW: You spend plenty of effort on your ego, just not your inspections.

1 Like

I don’t report on ‘potential’ anything, just facts.

BTW Take your bullshit somewhere else.