Condo Inspections

Been getting a lot of different information about condo inspections. Im a inspector in Washington. The standards of practice state that Inspectors must inspect roof and exterior. But most of the Inspectors I have talked to or worked with do not on condos. This is due to HOAs causing problems to them when they see a deficiencies in the siding and roof. If they see a problem it effects the neighbors also and inspectors have been sued by the neighbors. So many make a Statement on the report to check with the HOA on the warranty and life of the roof and outdoor materials and then refuse to inspect those areas themselves as a way to work around the SOP. Is that correct procedure? what is the best way to do this without sticking your neck out.

You have no obligation to inspect common areas.

I am called Condo Bob because I am detailed in my reporting and worked many buildings in the past so I tailor my amount of common area inspection to the property.
If your client is purchasing a unit in a 3 flat would they not wish you to give an opinion on the roof ?

Stop worrying about liability and worry about the client is my philosophy and it has served me well.

I do many multi-unit rental properties as well so experience certainly helps as with any other Endeavor.

What Bob says, I love condos too.
The reason I disclaim roofs and exteriors is because they are the responsibility of the HOA, home inspectors work for their clients, the inspection is concentrated on the stuff the client will be responsible for, mostly the interior.