Confused about Internachi - I just did these classes

Hello. I just joined today. I am a licensed plumber and licensed electrician, carpenter, builder of many years and am switching to home inspection because my back can’t take the other any more.

I did the 90 hour course with ICA and they gave me a year’s membership here.

But now that I am here, I am asked to do all the courses over again and take a test? I’m confused.
There is so much various information on this website, I am having a hard time figuring out what exactly I am supposed to do.

I have scheduled to take my test to get a license in Tennessee. Earliest date was Jun 18…
So, now I am studying for the test.

Why do I have to take the InterNachi courses that I just took at the other school all over again?
Can’t I just take the membership test here? (CPI?)

I also took the 90 hour course from ICA. There is a lot more to learn besides what ICA offered.
The requirements for CPI are not too time consuming and will add a lot to your overall knowledge.
I find the courses offered by InterNachi actually enjoyable. I have taken over 180 hours of the free courses offered by InterNachi since January. I thought being a decreed mechanical and electrical engineer for 30+ years would be enough. It is not!
Take the InterNachi courses for CPI and spend time on this forum. Many of these guys posting here are the real experts and offer a lot from their experience.
Good Luck!!

3 Likes

Thanks. So there is no way for me to get credit for the 90-hour course here?

Copy & paste your initial post, send to: fastreply@nachi.org
You’ll get an answer.
What you’re looking for is if this association accepts courses that you’ve acquired outside of here. And welcome! :cowboy_hat_face:

1 Like

180 hours… That should qualify for the Beaumont Educational Achievement Award?

Not familiar with that. Do I submit for that?

http://co.nachi.org/inachiawards/inachiawards775.html

Send your stuff to Marcel mcyrhammer@roadrunner.com