Currently a Carson Dunlop student, not pleased

Hi Everyone,

as the title says, I am currently enrolled as a student with Carson Dunlop. I live in Ontario, Canada, where there are no regulations on who can become a home inspector. I am not liking their course for various reasons. I am looking at withdrawing from their course, and becoming an InterNACHI member. It seems to be a much more supportive and informative community, as well as much less expensive.

I want to do all necessary lessons, through InterNACHI, then pass the CPI exam. I have little to no background in home inspection, I’m starting from scratch. Upon earning my CPI, I will find a local inspector, and see if I can tag along on some inspections for some real world hands on experience.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? Starting from scratch as an InterNACHI member?

1 Like

Chase, no one knows where you are located. Some states now have specific requirements for licensing. Some of these may be classroom hours and passing the NHIE test. You haven;'t indicated what your specific displeasure is with the Carson Dunlop course. Many Home Inspection classes are conducted using their book.

We can help you better with more information.

1 Like

Hey Chase. Sorry that you are having a hard time. I’m a North Carolina Licensed Home Inspector and started my journey to becoming an inspector by first taking the required state approved courses that could be found on the state licensure boards website. Then I used Internachis free resources to study up a little more for the exams.
Several years in and internachis resources are still useful for staying current on the trade and the forums are a wealth of knowledge. Most of the information posted is coming from inspectors first hand experience in the field.
Found out what your state requires and use internachis free resources along side those other courses to build a solid foundation for your career.

Best of luck to you!
,Cody