Determining amperage on a split bus?

Came across a federal Pacific split bus panel. Not very familiar with split bus style. So basically is everything above the breaker with the yellow wires a main? How do you determine amperage? Thanks for any help with this

or any help with this.

I, typically, used the lesser of the SEC and panel board amperages.

Wire size (ampacity) of feeders.

1 Like

Didnt see any visible markings on the main feed and I’m not very good at eyeing up larger size wires for size. Something I need to work on

Shit, I dont have any photos of that :thinking:

Well, don’t guess.

Example:

The service amperage was indeterminable but the service entrance conductors size suggest that it is ______ amps.

Or, ago back and get a pic of the panel board label. :smile:

2 Likes

Nah I wont guess. I’ll go back and pop the cover off, lesson learned

Why do you need to know this for a Home Inspection Report to have to go back and pull it apart again?

2 Likes

Not to get confused…, the SEC is not considered a feeder, in case someone reading was not aware. Special rules thus apply to SEC that differ from that of feeders. If this was a remote distribution panel then there would be a feeder from the main, but we wouldn’t use it to size the service (imagine someone installed 200amp remote panel feeding off of 100amp main disconnect).

NACHI SOP:
II. The inspector shall describe:
the main service disconnect’s amperage rating, if labeled; and
the type of wiring observed.

NY SOP:
Section 197-5.9 Electrical System
(b). Home inspections shall describe readily accessible and observable portions of:
1. Amperage and voltage rating of the service;

NJ requires us to. Might be different where you’re at, not sure.

That’s true. I meant SEC.

NACHI has no regulative authority.

If not labeled, your guessing.

That is an “Observation” requirement not an “Analysis”.

NACHI SOP: Did you bother to read the whole thing?

IV. The inspector is not required to: