Drones for new inspectors

How all,

I’m a new inspector in Arizona and I’m looking for guidance on what drone I should buy. Can anyone post some recommendations? Thanks for your help!

Aaron

Welcome Aaron!

Before I bought mine, I Googled “best drones for home inspections” and there were many articles and opinions listing top 10 etc. A hand full to choose from and in varying price range.

I personally went with the DJI brand and have been happy so far. It is the Mavic Pro that I bought on eBay. Used model with hard case 3 batteries etc. for a little over $600.00. Felt like it was the best brand with the features I wanted to get started with and could upgrade later if needed.

3 Likes

A big drone salesman and heavy drone enthusiast I talk to said really a mavic mini will do everything home inspector needs. I bought one and I totally agree. however depending on what other advanced features you want you can definitely spend more.

2 Likes

Hi Thomas,

Thanks for the response. How is the drone holding up? Do you feel like you need to upgrade?

Thanks Chase. I appreciate it.

It’s working fine for me now. I only use it when I can’t get to or see higher areas of the roof. The only thing I will consider upgrading to is the loom lens for the camera. I can get relatively close and take pics, but still need to edit them to zoom in further. The ones with zoom lens are much better, but more in price.

1 Like

Ok. Good to know. Thanks again and Happy Thanksgiving!

Look at the reviews and specs for the Mini 2. The video is 4K and rivals the Inspire.

2 Likes

I like the reviews of the Mavic Mini & Mini 2.

And, welcome to our forum, Aaron!..Enjoy! :smile:

1 Like

Hi Larry,

Thank you. I appreciate it. Do you use one of those drones?

I played with a friends Mavic Mini for a couple of weeks and it was stable in the wind, easy to maneuver, had and excellent camera and lighter than the requirements for a license, less the prop guards.