Dumb Question - Air Gap?

Hi Everyone –

New member to NACHI this past weekend though I’ve been lurking several months while I moved to TN from CT and got settled down here in Greater Knoxville.

Anyhoo, I am taking the NACHI online pre-licensing courses and keep seeing an “Air Gap” mentioned in various plumbing discharge discussions.

I’ve never seen one; are these common and/or required now? Is this something that will be on the TN Inspector’s test or a thorn in my side?

Definitely a foreign concept to me (this Air Gap thing). I was a Real Estate Broker/Realtor in my previous life up north, and having been involved in about 600 real estate sales personally over the 18 years that I sold used houses I don’t remember ever seeing this, or hearing it mentioned during any home inspection up there.

Could someone please clue me in? I’ve seen it mentioned so many times now in the online course materials that I am becoming fixated on it.

Plumbing is a bit of a weakness for me, electrical is more my bag interest-wise historically, so any guidance or advice is most definitely appreciated.

Thanks in advance, and, howdy again everyone. :slight_smile:

Al in TN

This is scary, on several levels.

I am sorry if I am offending you but you need to know that while you may be a test or two away from a license, you need to spend a lot of time studying (and possibly apprenticing) before doing a home inspection.

Primary purpose is to prevent backflow into water supply (e.g., dishwasher discharge) or provide visual observation and prevent pressure build-up in the event of a stoppage (e.g., T&P discharge). It can be a self contained device (e.g., dishwasher) or a configuration parameter (e.g., tub spout elevated above the flood rim of the tub).

http://images.google.com/images?rlz=1C1CHMI_enUS341US341&sourceid=chrome&q=air%20gap&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wi