Favorite thermal Imaging Camera

Im starting to look for a thermal imaging camera that is compatible with apple products. Any suggestions?

Do you have a budget?

Do you have training?

Daniel, there are many avenues to go down in using a thermal imager.

What would you use it for?

The reason I ask this is because I bought a ~$2,000.00 imager and then took 2 classes; Building sciences for thermal imaging and Level I class. As soon as I took the first class I traded in my cheap imager for a ~$17,000.00 imager, mind you that was about 15 years ago.

Get GOOD education then choose your imager…:smile:

1 Like

I do not have the thermal training through InterNACHI although I plan on taking the class as soon as I get a chance. Yes im fairly new at inspecting and id like to get a good product that will get me through until I can spend the money id like. As far as knowing how to use them Im a full-time FF/ Paramedic so I know my way around reading and using a TIC. Thanks!

Be careful with that FF/Paramedic TIC training! Thermal Cameras used in FF are designed differently than for a home inspectors use!! You could find yourself in a world of sh*t if you don’t understand the differences between the cameras and their abilities.
There’s an old saying that goes something like… “I would rather train someone with NO experience, than to UN-train and RE-train someone with the wrong experience”!!

ITC and Infraspection and Munroe are some companies that offer GOOD training.
Talk to David Andersen or Charley Bottger on this forum about which training is worth while.

Once you decide on an imager you can also pick up one on Ebay or Craigslist or even this forum for WAY cheaper than what they cost because the owners didn’t train first to know what to buy…up to you. :smile:

Good luck.

P.S. You can Google David (Tennessee) and Charley’s (Oklahoma) name, with inspector behind it, and find their number. Tell the I said to call.