First Post, Two Questions (Window Drip Cap, Deck Ledgerboard Bottom Flashing)

Howdy everyone.

I became an InterNACHI member in February and just received my New Jersey inspection license in the mail last week (after waiting four grueling months upon submitting my application). My field background is in masonry, so admittedly my experience has been limited to the great outdoors with few interactions with other tradesmen aside from excavators and framing contractors once foundations have been completed. Regardless, I’ve been an avid student of the home inspection industry and follow the board on a daily basis to pick up on new things that I may see on the field and get a feel for the personalities of the people on here.

*** Feel free to skip past this software experience story ***

Quick side story about my experience just as the New Jersey Advisory Board approved my license-- I looked around for report writing software toward the end of my Inspection course and decided on PalmTech after much deliberation. I loaded hundreds of verbiage comments into my template. It was okay until I started filling out my Mentorship inspections. The software (Version 9) glitched like crazy as soon as I had about three sections filled out (slow scrolling, random freezing, randomly closing without saving my progress). After doing a bunch of practice reports I couldn’t take the glitchiness of PalmTech Version 9 and I had to drop it. While searching for a replacement, I realized that they’d just launched the web-based “PalmTech Complete.”

They were able to move my template to the new version. I think it’s actually really nice but I had to go through every comment I had and add a title to each one since the old method of labeling comments is different on Palmtech Complete than Version 9 and it didn’t translate well at all.