Gas line inspections

Originally Posted By: bkraner
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I am a new inspector and want to add gas line inspections to my services. What requirements are there to be able to get into this. I assume I need a plumbers license and do they have to be pressure tested. I am in Ohio.

Originally Posted By: Mike Parks

Bret

Start here:

http://www.columbiagasohio.com/business/plumbers/

Mike P.

Originally Posted By: jjudy

Bret, are you doing new construction or inspecting existing services and are they LP or Natural Gas?

I would like to do both I never even thought of LP.

Bret

You do have to be licenced.

Mike P. OH. Lic. #26286

Mike can you please expand on the details of getting a licence for Bret?

Mike, Bret, interested in a NACHI Chapter meeting? Open to all.

? 4740.06. Application for license issuance; renewal.

(A) Any individual who applies for a license shall file a written application with the appropriate section of the Ohio construction industry examining board, accompanied with the application fee as determined pursuant to section 4740.09 of the Revised Code. The individual shall file the application with the appropriate section not more than sixty days nor less than thirty days prior to the date of the examination. The application shall be on the form prescribed by the appropriate section of the board and verified by the applicant's oath. It shall contain information satisfactory to the appropriate section showing that the applicant meets the requirements of division (B) of this section.

(B) To qualify to take the examination required to obtain a license for a heating, ventilating, and air conditioning contractor, refrigeration contractor, electrical contractor, plumbing contractor, or hydronics contractor, an individual shall:

(1) Be at least eighteen years of age;

(2) Be a United States citizen;