HELP! I'll ship everyone who contributes a box of stuff from Inspector Outlet.

Today I built an *electrical service from hell *(see attached PIC).

Here is the problem: I’m not really an electrician. So I put text under each photo, but I’m sure the text isn’t technically correct. I just worded it the way I would explain it.

What I need is for you electrical inspectors, electricians, and code folks to scroll down the photos and give me this:

• The correct way to say it. I’m sure you can improve on the verbiage. Correct it for me by posting the right way to say it.
  • The correct way to spell it. I don’t know if it is “knockout” or “knock-out” or if it is “AMP” or “amp.”
  • Any side notes you would add such as “This problem is usually found when…” or “This issue can be easily corrected by…”
  • Any references to actual codes such as the NEC that addresses the issue in the photo (I know it is a pain to look up).

I’ll take anything and everything you can post here on this message board.

To each person who contributes… I’ll ship a box of cool stuff from InspectorOutlet. The more you contribute, the bigger your box!

Here is the photo article: www.nachi.org/electrical-service-from-hell.htm

Tear it up!

InterNACHI-electrical-service-from-hell..jpg

Here are a few…

Service, service panel and sub panel. Service Equipment and Sub Panel.

200 Amp main over-current device 200 Amp Service Disconnect

No Anti-oxidation paste on current-carrying aluminum conductor Not Required

Breaker exceeds ampacity of conductor. Over-fused Conductor

100 amp subpanel feed located at bottom of buss assembly. 100 Amp Back-fed Breaker Located…

100 amp feeder breaker to subpanel protecting #6 conductor. Error. The back-fed breaker does not have to match the conductors supplying it. The breakers at the other end must be sized appropriately.

Breaker knockouts missing Twist-outs Missing

Is this what you need?

regional colloquial interpretation may differ
pic 1