Hot Water Heater Wiring

The wiring for this hot water heater isn’t in conduit. Is it required to be in conduit? Sorry for the simple question. I’m new at this and I’m trying to make sure I get it right.

DSCF0681.JPG

Howdy,

NO it does not have to be in Conduit…except in maybe ILLINOIS…lol…

But it does have to be supported correctly and in a proper connector and so on.

EDITED- YEP…Virginia allows it in NM…Obviously NOT everywhere else…:slight_smile:

Seems I DONT KNOW JACK.( well we all KNOW the protection issue…but in MY opinion in MY installs the protection is not a issue.)…and neither do the AHJ’s in my STATE…:slight_smile:

One of our OTHER masters should be able to assist you…:slight_smile:

Paul, it might be where he is. We are required to use a piece of flex with fittings to protect the NM. If there’s no flex on the truck we just use liquidtite.

It must be protected.
NEC 334.15(B) Protection from Physical Damage.

There was a similiar thread over at inspectionnews.com late last year. It apparently is not allowed in Florida, where Jerry Peck works, but we allow it here in San Diego (not sure about what they do up there in Santa Clarita :wink: ).

Physical Damage is always a thought when using NM…should go without saying now for the most part BUT in this case I just dont see the need unless the LOCAL ruling calls for it…you can’t go writting up EVERYTHING you see unless you know exactly what the cause and effect of it is and it could just come back to haunt you…

I have been wiring homes for 18 years…NOT once has any county I have installed in required any REAL protection on this usualy because the location is not in a place likely to endure physical damage…