How to Become a Home Inspector in Quebec? Need Advice

Hi everyone,

I am very new to this field and I would like to have some guidance as I do not have anyone to ask these questions:

I am a civil engineer with a masters in construction engineering and management in Montreal, Quebec and am currently working for a general contractor. I am part of the OIQ which is the regulating body of professional engineers in Quebec (for people outside of the province who don’t know) and I would like to become a home inspector.

I read that there isn’t a regulated body in Quebec required to be a part of, to become a home inspector, although there is the Bill 16 in Quebec which is trying to implement one.
There are schools that teach the home inspector program but are in the +5000 dollars CAD.

My question is:

• Should I just pay 500 USD/Year for InterNachi and learn everything from there or go to a school and follow their curriculum?

I feel like I could learn by myself through InterNachi and do some shadowing with people in the field since I don’t have time to go to a school since I am working full time. I could learn on my own schedule.

Plus on top of that, to be part of InterNACHI Quebec or the AIBQ (Association of Building Inspectors of Quebec), there are a lot of costs to become part of it (thousands of dollards). I have been hearing from a lot of people that they are businesses trying to make money off people.

• Will InterNachi (Non-Quebec) cover everything I need to know for house inspections for Quebec houses (including everything related to Quebec weather ect…)?

• What does InterNachi QUEBEC offer that InterNachi (Non-Quebec) doesn’t.

Any additional advice is much appreciated.

Thanks!

1 Like

Afternoon, Karim.
Hope this posts finds you well.

Out of Canada’s 3 territories and 10 provinces, only 2 provinces regulate their home inspection industry. That would be BC and Alberta. Please, don’t get lost in the politics.