How to start Commercial Inspecting

So I am new to Home Inspection and don’t know much at all with commercial inspections. The area I am in I was told lacks a commercial inspector within an 1hr commute. What does it take to become a commercial inspector. I am in SC and I also have a degree in Mechanical Engineering. Where would I go to get good training? What has been your experience with doing them vs residential? I know I am new but I am just looking at taking advantage of opportunities. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

Junior,
Is that who you went through? What are your experiences/expectations with commercial vs residential?

I also was clicking through your website and found that your specialty services page link on your services page doesn’t work.

Hi, thanks I’ll have my wife look into the link. I done the courses offered here at NACHI. I also done some courses under Carson Dunlop. CCPIA is owned by Nick Gromicko as well. As for commercial, we’ve done a few, but mostly residential so far. Someone from your neck of the woods might be able to give you a better idea of expectations for your area.

1 Like

Chris, there is also Dale Duffy who has been doing commercial inspections forever and may talk to you: https://www.inspect-arizona.com

1 Like

I will reach out to him, thank you.

1 Like

Hey Christopher, have you looked at the International Standards of Practice for Inspecting Commercial Properties? https://www.nachi.org/comsop.htm

I haven’t but I will do that first thing. Thanks.

1 Like

More info to consider: Commercial Inspection requirements Florida

I know the thread is 5 years old but it appears worth checking into. :smile:

1 Like

My two cents: I know for a fact that the Mortgage Bankers Association actively trains their members to make sure their clients’ third party PCAs are written to ASTM E2018-15.

1 Like

ASTM E2018-15 is what I was trying to think of. Thanks, Darren!