incorporate or not?

Originally Posted By: Russell Stephens
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I was wondering what you all think about incorporating. Just wondering if the benefits out weigh the con’s.

Originally Posted By: jhagarty

icon_question.gif

Joseph Hagarty

HouseMaster / Main Line, PA
joseph.hagarty@housemaster.com
www.householdinspector.com

Phone: 610-399-9864
Fax : 610-399-9865

HouseMaster. Home inspections. Done right.

Originally Posted By: Aaron Rosenbaum

I think incorporated has pros and cons. I think there is a lot of more “work” to be done (as in paperwork), but less taxes taken out and someone can’t sue you for all that you own (because the “company” owns it).

I'm a Sole Proprietor. I remember that a former IRS agent said that if you make over 70,000 that it might be a good idea to be incorporated.... just for tax reasons. I think being a SP is easier (in my opinion), but I'm just getting started. Also, if you are incorporated, when you subcontract work out (like radon testing, paint testing, etc....) I do believe that you need all their insurance numbers, etc.

Big pain in the a**

But like Joseph said....check with your business attorney or tax man.

Originally Posted By: mpatton

Check and see what benefits your advisor tells you about (LLC) Limited Liability Company. I found the benefits currently better for myself.

Michael Patton

AA Home Inspection

Serving Northern KY & Greater Cincinnati OH

AA@AAHomeInspection.net
www.AAHomeInspection.net

Originally Posted By: Russell Stephens

Thank you all for your input I greatly appreciate it.

Originally Posted By: rray