Insurance Agents Requesting Wind Mitigation

Over the past few months. I’ve gotten request for wind mitigations on houses that have no credits on all 7 items.

Example:
Did the home inspection, saw no WM credits and told the buyer that it’s not needed / no benefit.

2 weeks later at closing time, the agents are asking for a wind mitigation even though they know it’s going to be no favorable markings on 1-7 on the form.

I’ve had this happen probably 4 times in the last 3 months.

I’ve been doing the forms since 2008 and have never seen this. Has anyone else had this come up?

It is the only way they know for sure the best rates they can give. They do not care about you un-written opinion “not on a 1802” or that it will cost the client. They only care about making the sale.

Kind of like realtors that tell clients to get a 4 point and wind mit no matter what they just trying to speed their sale along.

Ok.
Thanks Michael.

Have seen this also. So far in my mind it would seem the best way to get an up to date documented visual of the property for their own reasons

Without having to pay as well :frowning:

Yes, and then I ask them why they are going to cost their customer $150.00 for something that will not give them any discount…with the customer on the line.
That usually ends the discussion.

And, since I do a wind mitigation inspection on every property I inspect, if needed I can provide it…with pictures. :wink: I also tell my clients if it doesn’t give them any discounts, ask their agent to refund the fee.

Fortunately, there are very few instances, at least in my area, where there won’t be some discount.

Sounds good to me;-)I’ve done them on brand new homes many times per the agent’s request.
Easier way to sell the wind mitigation.

The 2003 - 05 houses with no shutters or impact glass that are inland. Makes sense.