Maintenance Inspection

Hi my name is Matt and I am a new home inspector. I have a real estate agent that is also a property manager looking for me to inspect his rental properties on an annual basis however he does not want a full home inspection, he wants a good overview of the property to reveal potential issues. He said he would like a simple, more maintenance specific report essentially.

He will not be interested in certain items (e.g where the shutoff locations are, if its public or private water). So because of this my report will have a lot of items required in the standards of practice.

Do I still get him to sign a contract each time or is it better that this is just a simple ancillary service? Am I overthinking this or am I setting myself up for problems by doing a maintenance inspection?

Welcome Matt!

Take a look through this thread. Very similar question that was asked with comments.

1 Like

If that is all he wants excluded, then take $5.00-$10.00 off the price of the inspection.

The reality is, he wants a full inspection with a la carte pricing. He will also want discount pricing based on doing inspections for all of his properties. There is always a line of excuses on why you end up only doing a small percentage of them. During the inspections, you will repeatedly hear “I know that we excluded you looking at the ________, but you are here, and it will literally take you 30 seconds to look at it.” Or “I know we agreed to look at the roof from the ground, but I see you have your ladder here. It will literally take us longer to argue about it than it would just to get onto the roof.” The same thing for the attic. If you say anything about it, you will get the response of, “I was hoping to FINALLY find an inspector that isn’t going to nickel and dime me to death.” This is usually followed up with the “help me out on this one and I will make it up to you on the next.”, Spolier alert, it never happens.