Marketing help for a newbie. Please help!

I’ve been in the construction field most of my life and made the decision to become a home inspector this past year. Well, my wife is a real estate agent for a big name company and they all knew I was studying and when I completed my training they all knew, but seem to be skeptical of refering me to clients, possibly cause they know I am new to the field. In the past 6 months I have only done 1 inspection, which was absolutely great and the clients were very pleased.
I over heard one of the agents tell another that they were worried to refer me because I could be too good at it?! Anyway I have been putting off marketing cause I kinda thought I would get more jobs at this big named place. So…I have decided to quit putting my eggs in one basket and to start marketing to other agents in the area.
I have got my web presence up pretty good so now I have to beat feet. The problem guys is I am new to this, regardless of my construction experience. How do I market myself to these agents effectively as a newbie without setting off alram bells and such? I am quite capable of doing this and I really enjoy it, but I have do get business.
Please if you can help me out with some ideas I would appreciate it! You got to start somewhere. And has anyone done the postage stamps marketing thing? Did it help you. I joined InterNACHI to learn and become part of a network. I hope this will work! Thanks

1 Like

Do a search for marketing on this board. Enter your city of residence on your heading. Your subject has been discussed on this board countless times.

Russel Ray

I suggest you read and study the book http://www.amazon.com/33-Ruthless-Rules-Local-Advertising/dp/096673839X

Get in contact with Jeff Pope, he’s a regular contributor here (when he’s not on vacation) and married to a realtor. He can let you in on his secret on how he gets all of his wifes agents to use him exclusively for home inspections.