Moisture Meter

I am new to this business and I have most of the tools I need for HI. However, I was wondering whether or not I should purchase a moisture meter and if anyone could recommend any that seems to work the best in most situations. I would appreciate any advice or info on this topic. --Joe M.:smiley:

Protimeter mini Got mine at Pro Lab

Enjoy :slight_smile:

Delmhorst BD-2100, for me.

Ditto. I got the EIFS probes. Also use a Protimeter non-invasive. And a BCam;)

I use the Tramex Encounter Plus

If you go for the Protimeter Surveymaster, you’ll have both a pin-type meter and search meter in one. I have one and use both features on many inspections. It’s lasted 5 years now with no problems.

Search meters don’t give accurate levels of moisture but will find moisture behind tiles and under vinyl.

Pin type meters will give a more accurate reading of actual moisture content, depending on the brand. Some come with calibration tables and are fairly accurate in variety of materials and wood species.

Which you buy depends on what type of homes you’ll be inspecting. We’re not often required to know accurate moisture levels, so setting a baseline in materials you know have normal moisture levels will allow you to make comparisons with similar material in different areas and identify areas with significantly higher moisture levels.

If I had to choose between a search meter and a pin meter I’d choose the search type. People seem to really like the Tramex, but I think inspectors tend to like what they’re used to unless it’s obviously bad. I think the Wagner is less money.

The Tramex will actually record readings and display them later, which might be a good feature if you were doing a methodized search over a large, uniform area. Most of what we do only requires checking small areas, at least for most of us.

Having a moisture meter is crucial to providing quality inspections.