Need advice

Hi, my name is David and I’m located in Burnaby, BC. I have 15 years experience in commercial, and residential construction. I’ve been looking at different options to get out of construction and home inspector seems so far like a great option. I have a few questions:

1. From the research I’ve done, I’m most likely going to take the Carson Dunlop home inspection training program at home. CAHPI of BC recommends them. What would you recommend?

2. I see there are already hundreds of home inspectors in the Greater Vancouver area. Is the market saturated or there is still room for a new inspector?

Any recommendations are highly appreciated. I’m looking for a mentor in the lower mainland area.

Thanks in advance,

David

Hello David, Firstly you need some financial support for two to three years if you plan on being a single person inspection company, and the reason is all the new inspectors the schools are turning out now that licensing is in effect. Anyone with no background can become a home inspector. Having a background in construction helps with learning what will be needed but remember when everyone has a license they are all equal and it becomes about marketing. You can learn a lot about marketing here and you will have some ideas yourself no doubt but it all takes time. I strongly suggest you allow for that time, set your rates as high and higher than 75% of the rest when you have a years experience and market the hell out of your web presence and yourself.