North Carolina Inspector Test

How difficult is the North Carolina Home Inspectors Exam?

I have 8 years experience as a carpenter, licensed for 5 in Rhode Island.

I scored an 87 on the practice exam from NACHI while laying in bed, is the states test much harder?

Thanks for reading and I would appreciate all the help I can get.
davishomeinspections@gmail.com

http://www.nachi.org/qa.htm

InterNACHI password protected practice exam.

http://www.nachi.org/practice.htm

Just sign in and practice away. Makes life simple.

The full exam is more difficult than the SC test. That much I remember. You may have to take the Associate Inspector exam and work as an apprentice for 100 inspections before you can take the full exam. Check into all that, because NC makes it difficult to break into the business (unless you are already qualified, you have to start as an apprentice). The associate exam is easier than the full exam. Make sure you have a good understanding of the NC standards of practice. They’ll ask you which dept. regulates home inspectors, and other legal questions like that. Study the NACHI test and the NC standards of practice and read this message board and you should do fine.

If you scored an 87 on the InterNACHI test you should not have any problems. :wink:

Many people have the test questions for the NC Home Inspector exam. They teach the questions in North Carolina in the form of a prep class. I have been told that the NC exam has not been updated since it’s inception, so the questions on the exam are well known. I was in Asheville a few weeks ago and just such a class was being held in my hotel.

There are several NC exam’s.
The failure rate is about 45 percent for the full inspector exam.

Lots of code questions on the one I took.
I passed the first time but I would not say it was easy.
I had been making 98- 100 on nachi exams, NC is way more technical.

Make sure that you READ and UNDERSTAND the state’s HI law.