Notice to Sellers before inspection

I’m a new inspector looking to make sure I cover my bases with info/requests to homeowners before inspecting their property.

What are some of the things you always tell seller’s agents to pass along to their clients before an inspection?

To clarify, I’m referring to things like “Please make sure pets are secured and thermostats are unlocked and able to be operated, etc”

Thanks!

You need to be much more specific. For whom will you be working? If I am doing a buyer’s inspection (most often) I typically have no contact with the seller’s agent.

4 Likes

I’ve never had contact with a sellers agent before an inspection.

2 Likes

I may meet the seller’s agent at the time of inspection. It’s important to remember who exactly is your client. Even if the buyer’s agent recommended you or contacted you to do the inspection, unless they’re paying you (agent), you work for the buyer.

2 Likes

I’m referring to the things you would tell the homeowner before you do an inspection of their property. I assume that it’s standard practice for sellers to be made aware that an inspection is scheduled? I would also assume this would be done through the seller’s agent?

I’m not sure what this has to do with my question… My client (usually the buyer) is my client. Regardless of that, I am entering someone else’s property to do an inspection and I’d like to prepare them for that, when possible.

Don’t tell them anything. Ask them to leave the premises with any animals. Ask them if there are any circuit breakers off why are the circuit breakers off. Ask them are there any windows you should not open. Ask them if there’s anything else you should not operate before you perform the inspection and why.

1 Like

Well that makes it a little clearer. you just set a time with your client. The agents will then contact one another as needed to confirm with the seller.