QOD -1/9/2007 - Electrical

Easy one for today guys…ENJOY !

P.S… When I am refering to “ALLOWED” we are talking about the one that is ALLOWED to go to the Ground Rods as reference…not the fact it can be LARGER than the allowed…lets not make this complicated with a bunch of WHAT IF things…simple electrical question…we know the GEC could be larger…but what is the ALLOWED size it can be.

lol…let be remove the previous debate thing…I really DO want you guys thinking outside the normal BOX.

seventeen lookers and five answers . Wonder why .
Roy Cooke

Paul scared them with this note. ha. ha.

Anyone sho debates otherwise is only doing it to be a smart A$$…lol

Marcel

Right or wrong, I’m not going to debate it, hell I am just a dumb carpenter. ha. ha.

I believe that would be the minimum allowed size Mr. sho debate.

Is this gec to a ground rod that is considered a supplemental grounding electrode?

Also, copper right?

tom

lol…Yes…also should ALWAYS assume copper and never assume aluminum when doing questions in this type of nature…lol…not the DEBATE I was looking for…I will explain at the end…lol…

OH I welcome debate…but on this question their is one listed answer and their is ONE issue that could be debated…so I was actually doing reverse psychology…lol

Thomas…Yes…supplimental or primary…does not really matter if it is a supplimental or not…we are speaking of the ground rods as the sole electrodes in this example…but then again when we are really dealing with the ground rod in normal installations we are dealing with either the primary electrode or supplimental…not talking about supplimentary…:slight_smile:

lol…don’t let the debate thing scare away comments…just teasing ya guys…man dont you all KNOW me by now…geesshhh

If I remember correctly #8 is the largest solid copper conductor, and I know I always installed #8 as the grounding conductor. So, I is gona guess #8

The question is sorely flawed.