Radon testing questions for a beginner

I am a new home inspector looking to add Radon. Have a couple questions. Is testing with a single charcoal canister appropriate testing for the roughly $140 I’ll charge for the test? EPA recommends 2, but is what they recommend always what people are actually doing? And likely I’ll be setting the canister the day of the inspection but I’ll be opening and closing doors, negating the 12 hour rest period required prior. Can I leave the canister an extra 12 hours or do I just need to make separate arrangements for placing the canister when the time is appropriate?

Radon testing for RE Transactions, using charcoal canisters, requires two canisters placed side by side, (4 inches apart), to insure as accurate a reading as possible given the short term test duration.

Whenever possible, attempt to place the test prior to the inspection so it is complete at the inspection comence time. If there is any question as to the “closed home condition” for the 12 hour period, extend the test duration for the full 12 hours.

Remember, the test duration is required as a MINIMUM of 48 hours with a MAXIMUM of 96 hours. Most inspectors seem to have it in their heads that 48 hours is the requred duration. WRONG!!

1 Like

Thanks Jeff,
I’ll be sure to use 2 canisters. And regarding placement time, then it is ok to place during the inspection and just wait a minimum of 60 hours.

Yes, but be cognizant of the needs for the Radon test while inspecting, and minimize the duration of open times while testing doors, windows, exhaust fans, etc. Be sure to discuss this with all parties present during the inspection.

My recommendation for Radon canisters… https://rtca.com/product.asp?prodID=10&catID=1
Note: the website shows Consumer Pricing ONLY until you sign up as a business on their site. Your true cost is basically 50% of List. Also note: their canisters can run for a total of 168 hours (7 days)!!

1 Like