Rate my home inspection

So ive been doing inspections with another inspector for a couple months now. Got some inspections under my belt. And now that ive got that hang of things id like to see what you guys think of my inspection reports (the other inspector is interested in having our reports judged as well). I think constructive criticism is definitely going to help me improve as a home inspector. So some context before you guys read it. Red means something is out right not working or is a safety concern. Blue means either cosmetic or minor deficiency thats generally easy to fix. Black is just a comment and green is a suggestion like an improvement. Our average inspection takes about 2 hour (4 for one person) And i know iv already said it but I really do want some good critiques, im not looking for compliments. 49324_RR_33_4-15-21 Revised.pdf (11.0 MB)

2 Likes

Steven, My only comment is I would not include maintenance items or general comments in the summary. I typically save the summary for Repair, Safety and Mold related comments. As for the report itself I don’t like the items where you only list the material or style. For example under Doorbell you just state the type is hard wired. I prefer to write a full comment good or bad. For example I would write the following depending on the condition:

COMMENT: The doorbell responded to the button at the time of the inspection.

MAINTENANCE: The doorbell at front of the building did not respond and needs serviced. This is a maintenance item for your consideration. (See Picture 21, Appendix A)

In general you have a lot of items in your summary I would consider a maintenance item for the new homeowner to do. For example 4.1 Deteriorated boards. Repair or replace. If the boards are only weathered I would say the following:

MAINTENANCE: The deck is weathered and needs cleaned and sealed with a waterproof sealant. This is a maintenance item for your consideration. (See Picture 22, Appendix A)