Roof Shingle Issue

I’m new to the inspection world as I just recieved my LASHI little over week ago. I’m doing practice inspections in family and friends till I get my first. I came across an issue with a roof already that having hard time figuring out what is the issue. This is a picture of shingles that are 4 years old. When I first saw this I though there was a ventilation issue or defect in shingle. Well as I inspected more of roof I realized this issue was just on the North and South sides. The East and West sides were fine and that’s the sides that get more sun exposure in Southwest Louisiana. I hope someone can help we figure this out.

A contributor could be the underlayment was wet and/or not adhered properly

4 Likes

On something like this, it is best to just recommend having a qualified contractor make corrections and move on. I know that’s not what you want to hear.

I too would be interested in knowing what caused it, just for my own knowledge. So, I would check back in with someone involved to see what they figured out.

5 Likes

Those appear to be old composition shingles nearing life expectancy.
Besides the wrinkling, that can be caused by excess ultra-violet exposure known for trapping moisture in shingles to break down prematurely, the chimney flashing and shingle clearance give more of an overall image as to the roofing contractors installation practices, or lack there of.
As well, the slope transition was not flashed.

2 Likes

Really? I have NEVER seen a shingle with a FOUR YEAR life expectancy!

4 Likes

My wag would be manufacturer defect or wet underlayment/sheathing.

3 Likes

Yeah, that pattern is suspicious, and manufacturer’s defect certainly rises on the list of possible causes. The pattern of wrinkled tabs is strange and even stranger when found only on the north and south facing surfaces.

2 Likes