Stucco applied directly to plywood

Stucco on this home was applied directly to plywood. I know this is bad, you could see the joints, but there was no cracking ('95) and no obvious delamination. What do I tell the client?

Do you have a few more pictures?

I thought the only guy doing that kinda crap was in the KC metro.

How thick/thin is it?

Is it an acrylic product?

Tell them its a hybrid system.

And recomend an IR scan for moisture!

http://buildscanir.com/index.php

I would tell them that since their is no type of vapor barrrier between the stucco and plywood there is a potential for moisture wicking through the stucco and prematurely rotting the plywood.

Some of those products claim they are water proof and need no moisture barrier/vapor barrier!

And there are some that just go on as a thin coat just like paint!

I am not an expert in Stucco and don’t claim to be one, but even years ago this system would have had some sort of rain screen like 15# or 30# felt and a mesh and brown coat.
I would imagine that water infiltration and/or moisture has migrated through this plywood in various areas with visible cracks or none.

I would tell them what you see and IR scan as Carl mentioned is the only other alternative to investigate damage without destruction at this point.

Marcel :slight_smile: :slight_smile:
</IMG></IMG>

Hard to tell from the image but there appear to be more problems with the structure in contact with the grade, along with a mis-applied finish coat system.

IR scans are all well and good as long as the operator has a minimum Level I certification. There are many field calibrations and adjustments required to properly read an IR image especially outdoors and produce a realistic report.

I just completed the Level I certification and am in the R&D process for the right equipment for my intended purposes.