Supra Key and MLS

Hi,
I am in central Florida and I would like to know if home inspectors are either required or advised to have Supra Key access and MLS access.

I am currently a licensed realtor, transitioning into home inspection, so I already have all these memberships in place. They are, however, expensive, and if there isn’t really a solid benefit/need for a home inspector to enroll in these associations I don’t want to spend the money.

Any advice is appreciated! Thanks.

1 Like

Our company uses Supra, I’d say it’s worth it. Sometimes realtors don’t know we have it and stress out about providing us access. As far as MLS I don’t personally have it but we have a team member who uses it for us and I think it’s also beneficial.

2 Likes

Everyone plays a part in the real estate transaction, the way I see it is that the Realtor’s job is to open the property, maintain responsibility for anyone who enters the property opened by the realtor, and secure the property once the inspection concludes.

Dumb things happen in every situation when players over play their hand. A supra key has huge liability potential, especially when the buyer shows up to the inspection with their extended family and you are now responsible because you opened the door. Home inspectors would be wise to never enter a home (especially one which is occupied) without the personal liability protection which the realtor provides for free and free ain’t cheap either. Realtors should be encouraged to play their full part and unlock the door.

6 Likes

Thanks Joseph. Well said. When I was a buyers agent, I always made sure I was there to let the inspectors in, etc. I guess I have to adjust my thinking as far as where my responsibilities/liabilities are as a home inspector.

Cheers!

1 Like

I do not disagree with @jburkeson1