Swimming Pool is not up to code?

It has been implied to me that this Florida swimming pool is not up to code but I do not understand what steps need to be taken to bring it up to code. Can someone please help? (I am not a professional).

Call a licensed pool contractor or/and ask the AHJ to help. There is not nearly enough detail in your picture to start. Why would you need to bring it “up to code”?

Who told you that it does not meet Code?
What particular area of the Code was deemed / delineated as Non-Compliant?
What particular Code reference was given to be Compliant WITH?

Not fenced in and he sleep walks at night. Therefore a safety hazard. :mrgreen:

Two much partying in the backyard would be hazardous to your survival. :wink:

When was the pool built? And, who told you it isn’t up to code?

Not much of a pool deck. Somebody built a house on top of it. Looks like some grade issues as well as what Marcel said.

Appears to me a pool house addittion was added on to the house after the pool was built.

A wider picture of the whole area would be more helful. :):smiley:

Then the pool isn’t the problem, is it? :wink:

Eric, the only thing we see is the pool house add-on or whatever it is. Your guess is just as good as mine. :):wink:

There was a patio, probably with two or three steel support posts, and somebody closed it in. If I remember, there is a formula for how far the pool has to be away from the structure. 1/2 of the deepest part, I think.

Apparently in Indiana, it is 10 feet!

Yeah, but the poster is from Florida. :slight_smile:

True, which is the first part of my previous answer. Blowing up the picture, it is a patio that someone turned into a screen enclosure.
Our patio is sort of like that, but no screen room. We have an enclosure to goes over the entire pool.

The pool is fine…the rest of the house…not so much! :smiley:

Probably the best advise in this case. With enfasis on the local AHJ where the pool is located.

Bert