The point of posting...

Hello Gents (and Lady)

I’d like to thank those of you who have recently contacted me off-line regarding a recent series of posts. The general theme of each of the emails was essentially “Why are you wasting your time arguing with fools?” Followed by generally positive comments and concerns that I may get cheesed off and stop posting.

I make my living by presenting arguments (both in court and out of court). In virtually all of my work, there is an “adversary” or opponent. Even in those “real-life” situations, it is not important that I “win” (from the perspective of the client) but rather, I “win” when I present the argument faithfully.

I don’t think for a moment, that I am going to change the minds of some of the more foolish participants on this forum; but that’s not my goal. Rather, (and in particular), these same participants actually provide me with a platform to discuss what would otherwise be irrelevant topics. The vacuous, disingenuous or specious nature of their argument notwithstanding, the points they make open the doorway to discuss certain issues.

So when I engage in what seems to be an argument to failure, remember, I’m not necessarily writing to convince the foolish poster to whom I am responding, rather, I am using the opportunity they provided to present information to YOU, those of you who are reading, and listening, getting the information presented in the discussion. Most of you have raised excellent, i[FONT=Arial]ntellectually honest, astute and germane points and criticisms. And it’s equally enjoyable responding to those.[/FONT]

Nobody wants to just sit down and read a dry discussion on some statistical topic or physics discussion – but put that same discussion in the context of an ongoing argument, with immediate feedback, and that same information now becomes more relevant, understandable and useful.