Wind Mitigation on a Condo Bldg

I am a licenced home inspector in FL and have taken the wind mitigation course on NACHI’s sight. I have been asked and I feel confident to do a wind mitigation on a four story, 40 unit, condo building, but am I completely qualified to do this?

No you are not. This type of building will require a different form than the 1802. You need to be a GC for that form.

If you are in the Tampa Bay area…give me a call or e-mail. I can help you.

Re: Who can perform mitigations using the MIT-BT-II & III

Engineers, contractors and:
A licensed building inspector
• A registered architect
• An engineer in the State of Florida
• A building code official (who is duly authorized by the State of Florida or its county’s municipalities to verify building code compliance).
Licenses today are checked for validity before a carrier will give such discounts.

Greg can you tell us what form to use for condo wind mitigation inspection?
I also want to know that

It is hard to tell if a house has a secondary water resistant, what is the best way to verify the house has SWD, and it seem hard to find the permit and installation date for roof construction

(Chuin, Please list your city and such in your profile. We like to know who we are talking to.):wink:

…There are several ways to determine that SWR exist. It is very rare. Most people who have it applied as required for the 1802 paid extra for it. It can be seen at the juction of plywood sheets or around vent.

Don’t confuse SWR of the building code with the SWR as defined by the 1802.

Okay,

Can anyone please tell me how you are handling the wind mit on a condo first floor unit 2- stories.

Are you doing the roof inspection of the second floor or stating it’s a ceiling / floor combine.

Bill

The building is the building. The roof is the roof. The only exception is shutters. If you are writing for a unit only include that unit’s shutters. If you are writing for the building include the whole building.