Company naming question

I am looking for opinions as to the validity of simply using my legal name as my company name fo home inspection. I am also a professional Land Surveyor and I use my name for that practice as well. Thoughts?

Worked great for us …

http://www.royshomeinspection.com/about.html

Arthur Inspection Services.
Sounds good and you will be near the top of the list having A as first letter.
www.arthurhomeinspections.com is not picked yet on search.

That depends on if you want to stroke your ego or not. It would be much better to have a company name that people could possibly use as an internet search term. As for the Arthur or A being at the top of the list, that may have had some credence when people used the yellow pages but those go right in the recycle bin now. The internet search engines don’t give a rats patootie about which letter your company name starts with and it is unlikely that someone that doesn’t know you would ever search for Arthur Home Inspections unless that is the name of their city.

If I had to do it over again, I may not have chosen the same company name but after so many years, you don’t give up local name recognition. Since you are starting out fresh, it won’t matter.

What area are you going to service? You have NJ & PA for your surveying. Both states license home inspectors so if you are not going to license in both states, pick one and use a regional name for your business and see if that name is available for a website url.

Good luck.

Including the area you service in the name will benefit you when you start to work on a web marketing presence.

That is true Stephen W but you can relate to what I am talking about.
My last name Wood is last in a search
The Right Trak is near the bottom.
Most companies are switching to make sure there company does not suffer from being on the alphabet highway.
As for the website being at the top this is not what I was trying to get across.