First paid Inspection checklist?

I am getting ready to schedule my first paid inspection. I don’t have software. So I’m going to have to manually write the report. And I’m wondering if anybody has a checklist of everything that I need.

Also Not quite sure how to use the Forum and wanting to know if there’s anything I need to do to join the buyback program.

I am a new inspector so please take this with a grain of salt. What I have noticed is that there are a lot of inspection software companies that offer free trials of their software even when used for paid inspections. This would be a great way to get to know what software suits your style best and will provide a better end product for your client. Just my two cents. Good luck!

6 Likes

Drew is right, you would be better off with a trial version of any software than the pen and paper. You want your report to look good.

3 Likes

That’s SECONDARY to not winding up in court!!!

3 Likes

Everything you need to inspect is called the SOP. Why not try Tap Inspect, you get five inspections for free every inspection after that is five dollars. I use it on my iPhone or iPad pretty simple to use.

3 Likes

There are a plethora of software options out there. I thus concur with what has been said thus far. If you pull up the nachi or your state SOP if there is one, you can use that to make a checklist.

Here is the nachi reference for checklists though: https://www.nachi.org/home-inspection-checklist.htm

1 Like

What did you use for your mock inspections? If you haven’t done any yet I would do some prior to your first paid one. Try sample report software and take lots of pictures. Try doing your own your home and start to make a template for your first paid inspection. Good luck with your new career

Please do not use something like this ~ OMG
Thank God there were “closet rods” in all the closets.

Professional Report.pdf (149.0 KB)

5 Likes

Dice”… as in “Roll 'em”?? :astonished:

1 Like