I got this e-mail today

CUSTOMER INFORMATION
NAME: Jeff Wise
EMAIL ADDRESS: hisinspections@msn.com
You have a false hood on your web site that states that Your organization is the only one that requires a test. AII, ASHI are just 2 of the other reputable organzations that require exams. the national exam is required by many states as well and will probably be required here before too long for licensing. You are right, that some organizations such as HIF dont require anything but a fee. But what you are saying on your site is not true. It should be changed.
THIS COMPLETES THE INQUIRY

This is my responce to him

Jeff,
What my web site says is true You can join other organizations by paying a fee and take the exam latter, (NACHI the only organization that requires it’s members to pass a certification exam prior to becoming a member.)

Quote From ASHI WEB Site: (Who is eligible to take the ASHI Membership I’m a Professional Home Inspector…
I’m a Certified Home Inspector by the National Association of Certified Home Inspectors.

Anyone can take the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE) or ASHI’s Standards and Ethics Examination. These exams are required for individuals to qualify for full ASHI membership. Also, several states require passing the NHIE for licensure. Check with your state regulatory agency to verify existing licensure requirements.)

It is clear here that ashi wants your money up front and does not care that you have any qualifications as a candidate member. NACHI requires an entrance exam before membership is excepted.

ASI QUOTE
I understand:

That as an ASHI CANDIDATE, I am not a full MEMBER of ASHI. I may not vote or hold national office, and may not exercise any of the other rights of membership.