Inspecting Huge Houses

Hi,
This is my first year in business, and an agent who I’ve made a strong connection with sells luxury homes in the Atlanta area. I’ve made it abundantly clear that the 11,000 square foot home (castle) that I’ll potentially be inspecting soon is beyond anything I’ve done before, but I’ve already had access with the agent to see what reports on larger homes of this size look like,
And what I’ve noticed is that they have TWO inspectors. I’m a one man army and my inspection fee is not going to be enough to sub-contract another inspector on a home this size. My fee for an 11k sq footer would be $822.
So. Of course they have my whole day, no 8 - 1 nonsense for these clients. And I’ll point out I’ll be working on the report the next day, so there’s that. Should I be confident that that’s enough? Thank you

1 Like

That would be a quote for an estate.
I usually start at $2,500.00 - $3,000.00, but it depends upon the estate.
Remember there might be out buildings and a pool or even a water front with a sea wall. Charge extra for them.
If you have the experience/expertise to be detailed, quote high and take your time building the report. Usually within 72 hours.
Hirer someone to carry your tools and take notes.

Not for the faint of heart. You have to learn.
Good luck with all your endeavors.
Robert

3 Likes

Way, way underpriced in my opinion, unless 6k of the 11k sq. feet is one giant empty room, lol.

10 Likes

I’ve done large properties as a one man show. I depend on photos more and do more of the report writing in my office. I assume you use a mobile app reporting system for efficiency. I also assume you have your report writing efficiency worked out. Those are key to getting it done. Giving yourself the next day for the report is good. Bring a lunch and take a break along the way.