Is this new method for roof-to-wall connection legit?

I was told that these 6" screws installed from underneath the top plate into the truss are considered the equivalent of a clip. I saw regular clips installed about every fourth truss with these in the other three.
Does anyone have confirmation that this is acceptable?
If so, how do we confirm their presence in a finished house? Can we just see clips every 4th or 5th truss and call it good?
I am a new inspector, so please pardon my ignorance if this is not new! lol Thanks!

I believe they are but not sure about high wind area. Look here:

2 Likes

Thank you, Larry. That’s the critter!

I’m in the Panhandle, so the HVHZ requirements don’t apply here. Still, I don’t want to downgrade someone’s house to just “toe nails” on the wind mit form if it really is built well.

Maybe this is an issue that hasn’t been defined yet.

1 Like

Yes those can replace hurricane clips. , check out the Simpson Strong-tie catalog

1 Like
3 Likes

Thanks, Lukasz! I appreciate that link in addition to the one Larry provided. It is great to have support from experienced inspectors!

So, now that I know that this connection method is accepted in the industry, here is how I solve my reporting dilemma:

The 1802 form requires that all **visible ** metal connectors meet certain requirements. These screws are typically not visible once construction is complete. Therefore, as long as the visible connectors (the clips) meet the conditions, I can check box B “Clips”. In the absence of any clear evidence to the contrary, such as visible toe-nailing or missing bracing at a gable end wall, I can reasonably conclude that accepted standard practices have been followed. The fact that metal connectors are not visible at every truss is inherent to the construction method.

Does this sound right?

1 Like

Peter,

The SDWC truss fasteners are extremely common in North East Florida. I installed these on my current home per the engineer’s specifications.