Newbie Question

As all can see, I am brand new to this BBS and to the Home Inspection business as well, although I am actively looking to enter the field, firston a part-time basis, then full-time after I retire from my ‘day job’. I’ve looked around the web quite a bit, obviously finding NACHI, but also ASHI. I’m guessing there is likely some ‘friendly competition’ between the groups, but I’d llike to hear from some about what the true differences really are and why I should select one or the other (or both?) to support my entry into the business.
TIA

Just read the web site. That is what sold me on NACHI. I would not trade this for any other org.

Frank,

You’re opening a huge can of worms on this subject which has been asked many times over. I will always be a NACHI member for thousands of reasons.

Start reading here…
http://www.inspectionnews.com/ubb/Forum37/HTML/000034.html

Many, many reasons.

www.nachi.org/benefits is just one reason.

Frank, as a neutral party on this site (I sell E&O and Liability Insurance to Inspectors of any association), you might be asking some biased people. I guess it would be like me going to Boston and asking people at Fenway Park if I should start cheering for the Yankees or the Sox.

In Boston, cheering the Yankees will get your car torched. I know, I’m from there!

Anywho- Frank, I am a member of ASHI (just recently) and will soon be a member of NACHI. Here, you will hear NACHI NACHI NACHI; there, you will hear ASHI ASHI ASHI. However, NACHI does have more benefits, period. Sadly, ASHI is recognized more by realtors, from what I have noticed (NACHI-you need to do something about that.) It won’t hurt being a member of both, however.

Frank,

Welcome to one of MY WORLDs

It would be nice if you would complete your profile so we at least know where you are from. Located in the Control Panel link.