Pricing for Radon and Mold Testing

Good morning to everyone! I am new to Home Inspection and I would like to get my pricing in order.
How much would you charge for a Radon as a bundle with the inspection? Or a price without inspection?
What would you charge for a mold test as a bundle with the inspection? What are your fees without the inspection?

For radon, I charge $140 without an inspection but I won’t drive more than 15 minutes each way. $90 with any inspection.

I don’t do mold myself but the guy I use charges $300 for a baseline and one air sample. $150 for each additional sample.

1 Like

Depends on my mood AND if I like OR feel I do not trust the client.
$125-150/air sample. If with an inspection then it could be anywhere from $75-$150.
It helps to advise 'em that unless they need it for some dumb reason, I suggest no surface swabs or tape lifts for them to pay for.
Who cares if it’s red-black-green-pink mold? It’s mold! It’s gotta go.
They like that & it helps instill confidence in the inspector.

1 Like

This is a great post as I’m currently taking the mold inspection course. I was curious about these exact questions.

1 Like

I don’t do mold testing because when you identify mold it doesn’t really matter which kind of mold it is; you just get rid of it.

For radon, I have a digital tester (just in case) but I live in an area where radon isn’t a problem so I never have to use it. I’d maybe charge $100-$150 since it takes a few days and requires you to return to retrieve the tester.

1 Like